Disable client Screenshot button momentarily after taking a screenshot, or until the situation has changed
|Opened on:||Thursday, October 6, 2011 - 18:03|
|Last modified:||Sunday, November 27, 2011 - 12:47|
To prevent image spam in chat and save server bandwidth from multiple image uploads, I suggest once the button is clicked to upload and post a picture to chat, the client should disable the button until there is reason to post another image.
"Reason" could entail a number of things, including but not limited to;
The camera changing positions to view another angle.
The protein backbone or side-chains have been moved or altered.
The view options have been altered (coloring, outlines, etc).
The User Interface has been changed (cookbook opened, menu opened, chat window altered).
A number of seconds (perhaps five or ten?) have passed.
While the button is disabled, to keep the user from disorientation or frustration, perhaps it should be replaced by a grayed out camera icon, and perhaps a countdown could be shown to indicate that the button's function will be restored in 9... 8...
That said, I understand that there could be a legitimate reason for a second screenshot without any other changes. Video drivers could be intermittently bad, etc. If that is indeed the case, five or ten seconds shouldn't be a problem. I could be wrong. It could be a video glitch that occurs only immediately after pressing the screenshot button? A glitch with the aforementioned countdown timer suggestion, perhaps? But if that is the case, a screenshot could be posted to another room to obtain the link or catch the glitch.