Please add an option for game IRC connections to disconnect

Case number:671071-2000326
Topic:Game: Other
Opened by:Timo van der Laan
Status:Open
Type:Suggestion
Opened on:Wednesday, February 4, 2015 - 20:41
Last modified:Monday, February 23, 2015 - 23:47

This would make sharing solutions a lot easier for people using more than one client.
Now it can be a hussle to do that.
Just like we see a connect button if not connected, I would like to see a disconnect one if connected.

(Wed, 02/04/2015 - 20:41  |  6 comments)


Angus's picture
User offline. Last seen 2 hours 11 min ago. Offline
Joined: 06/04/2008
Groups: Beta Folders

I don't think IRC chat needs to be connected to share solutions. I regularly upload and download solutions from any of my open clients.

gitwut's picture
User offline. Last seen 41 weeks 5 days ago. Offline
Joined: 05/18/2012
Groups: Contenders

I could be wrong, but I think Timo meant to say sharing a screen shot of a solution rather than sharing a solution. Currently you have to either close the active client and click reconnect in the desired client or you have to issue the IRC "ghost" command to disconnect the active IRC client first. Even worse is when you want to share a screen shot from a network where IRC is blocked :(

But you are correct, sharing saved solutions does not require IRC.

Joined: 09/21/2011
Groups: Void Crushers

Indeed I was talking about sharing pictures.

Joined: 06/17/2010

You can track and kill IRC connection from client, on Windoze I use Sysinternals TCPView to do that.
It will not kill your client, and you can reconnect when need.
But sure, button would be way easier.

Joined: 04/24/2014
Groups: None

I've been informed that a solution that should fix this issue is somewhere on the list of things to do in the future. (So I wouldn't expect a fast solution, but it's something that's being addressed!)

Thanks for the feedback :)

jflat06's picture
User offline. Last seen 1 day 8 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 09/29/2010
Groups: Window Group

I've added a button which will forcibly reclaim the nickname from whatever client is using it. The other client will be disconnected, and the current client will log in with your nickname. This should be in the next update.

Sitemap

Developed by: UW Center for Game Science, UW Institute for Protein Design, Northeastern University, Vanderbilt University Meiler Lab, UC Davis
Supported by: DARPA, NSF, NIH, HHMI, Amazon, Microsoft, Adobe, RosettaCommons