I notice that lots of my modifications that I made to other people's recipes are listed under children of those recipes. I never intentionally shared any of these recipes and they are worthless. I notice lots of other people have had the same problem in the past. I believe that this feature should be disabled and all child recipes deleted.
a workaround is to copy/paste recipe into an empty editor. Then save it. (it'll be under a new private name)
The reason this is there is that we are interested in the relationships between recipes, and how they evolve over time. However, whether or not players should see this information is a different question, and you may be right that it really isn't useful for your purposes.
Does the project have visibility on the 'Private' recipes, that are never shared to the web site?
AFIK all your recipes are send to foldit central when you start it. Thats why we have lag sometimes on new recipe run ;]